Foods compared by label data: compare foods

The Best Dog Food for Goldendoodles, Compared Label by Label

Updated · Sources are cited in the text

General nutrition information compiled from product labels and published sources, not veterinary advice. Your veterinarian is the right person to choose a diet for your dog, especially one with a health condition.

There is no single best dog food for Goldendoodles. The breed covers a wide range of sizes, and a food that suits a 20 lb mini may be wrong for a 70 lb standard. What you can do is read labels carefully and match a food to your dog's size and life stage.

This guide does that. It sets out how we compared foods, what the labels of several well-known products actually say, and which questions to take to your veterinarian.

How we compared these foods

We compared label data. For each food we looked at the AAFCO nutritional adequacy statement, the life stage, the first five ingredients, protein, fat and fiber figures, calories, and kibble size where it was stated.

We did not run feeding trials. We did not taste test anything, and we did not feed these foods to dogs. Nothing here is a performance claim. If a food sounds good on paper, that only tells you what is printed on the package or the brand's product page.

Some data was missing, and we say so where it matters:

  • Kibble size was not stated on any of the dry food pages we compared, so we cannot compare it.
  • Hill's shows dry-matter average nutrients on its product pages, not the guaranteed analysis printed on the bag. Those numbers are not directly comparable to the minimums listed by other brands.
  • We did not compare prices. Prices change by store, bag size and delivery plan, so check the current price with the brand or retailer.
  • The comparison is a sample of well-known foods, not every good option on the market.

No Goldendoodle-specific formula turned up in our comparison. The foods below are sold by size and life stage, which is how you will need to shop.

Start with your Goldendoodle's size

The Goldendoodle Association of North America (GANA) publishes a size breakdown in its breed standard. GANA is a breeder association, not a kennel club. There is no AKC breed standard for the Goldendoodle, so these figures come from a breeder group's own standard.

GANA sizeHeightTypical weight
Petite MiniUnder 14 in25 lb or less
Mini14-17 in26-35 lb
Medium17-21 in36-50 lb
StandardOver 21 in51 lb or more

GANA says height, not weight, decides the size category. Size also varies with the Poodle parent and the generation of the cross, so treat every figure as a range. Some standards can reach the 70 lb mark that AAFCO uses for large-size dogs.

Your adult size matters because many foods are labeled by adult weight. If your puppy's adult size is uncertain, ask your breeder and your veterinarian which size category to shop in.

What to look for on a Goldendoodle food label

The AAFCO statement

This is the most useful sentence on the bag. It says whether the food is complete and balanced and for which life stage. A food can meet the AAFCO nutrient profiles by formulation, or it can be backed by animal feeding tests. Both are legitimate routes, and they are worded differently. Read the exact wording rather than assuming.

The large-size growth phrase

The Merck Veterinary Manual explains that a food labeled for growth or all life stages must say either "including growth of large-size dogs (70 lb or more as an adult)" or "except for growth of large-size dogs (70 lb or more as an adult)." The "including" wording means the food meets the nutrient levels AAFCO sets for large-size growing dogs, which currently applies only to calcium.

This matters most for standard-size puppies. The Merck Veterinary Manual notes that excess calcium is more of a problem for growing large- and giant-breed dogs, and that over 3% calcium on a dry matter basis worsened signs of osteochondrosis in rapidly growing large-breed dogs. Mini and petite Goldendoodles are small dogs, so this concern is mainly about the larger sizes.

The first five ingredients

Ingredient lists run by weight before cooking, so the first few items show what the recipe is built on. Look for a clear protein source. Note that "chicken" and "chicken meal" are different things, and moisture in fresh meat changes how the weight compares. We list the first five ingredients below but do not rank foods by them, because a list alone cannot tell you how a food performs.

Calories

Calories per cup tell you how much to feed, not whether a food is good. A food with 390 kcal per cup needs a smaller portion than one with 340. Compare calories before comparing cup sizes.

Protein, fat and fiber

Guaranteed analysis lists minimum protein and fat and maximum fiber (and moisture). On moist foods these numbers look small because of the water, so you cannot compare a fresh food's 8% protein with a dry food's 28%. The comparison only works on a dry matter basis.

Puppy foods: label by label

Standard-size puppies

Two large-breed puppy foods appear in our comparison.

Royal Canin Large Puppy (dry)Hill's Science Diet Puppy Large Breed Chicken & Brown Rice (dry)
Intended forLarge breed puppies, adult weight 56-100 lb, up to 15 monthsLarge breed puppies, over 55 lb as adults, up to 18 months
AAFCO statementFormulated to meet AAFCO profiles for growth, including growth of large size dogs (70 lb or more as an adult)Animal feeding tests using AAFCO procedures substantiate complete and balanced nutrition for growing puppies
Large-size phrase"Including" wording presentNot on the page
First five ingredientsChicken by-product meal, corn, wheat, chicken fat, wheat glutenChicken, brown rice, whole grain oats, chicken meal, cracked pearled barley
Protein / fat / fiber28% min / 14% min / 3.7% maxDry matter averages: 26.3% / 15.4% / 2.4% crude fiber
CalciumNot stated in our data1.16% dry matter average
Calories349 kcal per cup391 kcal per cup

The main label difference is the wording. Royal Canin states the large-size growth phrase. Hill's states a feeding-test claim for growing puppies but does not carry the "including" phrase on its page. We are reporting what is printed, not saying either food is better. If you have a standard-size puppy, ask your veterinarian how to weigh these statements for your dog.

Neither food is a Goldendoodle formula. Both are sized by expected adult weight, so check where your puppy's likely adult weight falls.

Fresh foods from JustFoodForDogs and Nom Nom (covered below) also carry the "including growth of large size dogs" wording, so they are options on the label if you prefer fresh.

Mini and petite puppies

For smaller doodles, our comparison includes Hill's Science Diet Puppy Small & Mini Chicken & Brown Rice Recipe (dry). It is labeled for puppies up to 1 year old and for pregnant or nursing dogs. The AAFCO statement is a feeding-test claim for growing puppies and for gestating or lactating adult females.

  • First five ingredients: chicken, whole grain oats, brown rice, chicken meal, chicken fat.
  • Dry matter averages: 28.9% protein, 19.7% fat, 2.3% crude fiber, 1.58% calcium.
  • Calories: 418 kcal per cup.

That calorie figure is higher than the large breed puppy foods above, which is common for small-breed formulas. It also means a small dog's cup is worth more than it looks.

We did not find a medium-size puppy formula with a reachable product page, so for a medium-size Goldendoodle puppy you will need to check the brand's own information. Ask your veterinarian which size category fits.

Adult foods

Royal Canin sorts its adult dry foods by weight, which maps well onto GANA sizes. It lists medium adults at 23-55 lb and large adults at 56-100 lb. Hill's lists its large breed adult food for dogs with an ideal weight of 55-110 lb.

Royal Canin Medium AdultRoyal Canin Large AdultHill's Adult Large Breed Chicken & Barley
Intended for23-55 lb, over 12 months56-100 lb, over 15 monthsIdeal weight 55-110 lb, ages 1-5 years
AAFCO statementFormulated to meet AAFCO profiles for maintenanceFormulated to meet AAFCO profiles for maintenanceFeeding tests substantiate complete and balanced nutrition for maintenance
First five ingredientsBrewers rice, chicken by-product meal, oat groats, wheat, corn protein mealChicken by-product meal, brewers rice, wheat, brown rice, chicken fatChicken, cracked pearled barley, brown rice, brewers rice, whole grain wheat
Protein / fat / fiber23% min / 12% min / 3.4% max24% min / 15% min / 3.2% maxDry matter averages: 23.8% / 15% / 1.7% crude fiber
Calories340 kcal per cup360 kcal per cup365 kcal per cup

For a medium Goldendoodle, Royal Canin Medium Adult is the one in our comparison that is sized to the 36-50 lb GANA range. It has the lowest fat minimum and calories per cup of the three. For a standard, the two large adult options are closer in calories, and the choice comes down to ingredients and what your dog does well on.

For a mini or petite adult, we did not find a small-breed adult formula with a reachable page, so check the brand directly.

Label feeding guides are starting points

Brands print feeding tables. Two examples from our comparison: the Royal Canin Large Adult table lists 2 7/8 cups (274 g) a day for a 57 lb target adult weight at low activity, and the Hill's Adult Large Breed table lists 3 1/4 cups (320 g) a day for a 50 lb dog. These are starting points, not prescriptions. Adjust to your dog's body condition and ask your veterinarian if you are unsure.

The Royal Canin Medium Adult page recommends feeding 2 to 4 equal portions per day.

Senior dogs

Our comparison includes Hill's Science Diet Adult 6+ Large Breed Chicken Meal, Barley & Rice Recipe (dry), for large breed dogs aged 6 and older with an ideal weight of 55-110 lb.

  • AAFCO statement: feeding tests substantiate complete and balanced nutrition for maintenance of adult dogs.
  • First five ingredients: chicken meal, cracked pearled barley, brewers rice, whole grain wheat, whole grain corn.
  • Dry matter averages: 18.7% protein, 13.5% fat, 2.4% crude fiber.
  • Calories: 352 kcal per cup. The label table lists 3 cups (295 g) a day for a 50 lb dog.

That is lower in protein, fat and calories than the same brand's regular large breed adult food. We found no senior formula for smaller Goldendoodles. What a senior dog needs depends on their health, so a veterinarian should guide that choice.

Weight control

We did not find a dedicated weight management formula in our comparison, and we are not going to stretch another product to fit. What we can say is limited to what sources say.

The American Kennel Club notes that some Golden Retrievers can become overweight. Goldendoodles can inherit that tendency from the Golden Retriever side, though no source we used documents it for Goldendoodles specifically.

Practical label points for any dog:

  • Compare calories per cup before you compare anything else.
  • Measure food rather than guessing.
  • Count treats and toppers in the daily total.
  • Ask your veterinarian for a target weight and a feeding plan. Prescription weight diets are something only a veterinarian prescribes.

Sensitive stomachs and allergies

We have no sensitive-stomach formula in our comparison, and no label can promise to prevent or treat a digestive or skin problem. If your Goldendoodle has recurring vomiting, loose stools, itching or ear trouble, see your veterinarian before changing food. They can tell whether diet is involved and which approach makes sense.

One related point for owners of poodle crosses: the Merck Veterinary Manual says Poodles are among breeds with a reported increased prevalence of pancreatitis. Goldendoodles can inherit that background from the Poodle parent. A veterinarian decides how, or whether, that should affect your dog's diet.

Wet food

One wet food appears in our comparison: Hill's Science Diet Adult Chicken & Barley Entree, in a 13 oz can.

  • For adult dogs aged 1-6 years, all sizes.
  • AAFCO statement: feeding tests substantiate complete and balanced nutrition for maintenance of adult dogs.
  • First five ingredients: water, chicken, pork liver, whole grain corn, cracked pearled barley.
  • Dry matter averages: 26.7% protein, 16.7% fat, 1% crude fiber.
  • Calories: 369 kcal per 13 oz can.
  • Label table: one can a day for a 10 lb dog.

A can is mostly water, so the first ingredient is water. That is normal for canned food. The table is written for a 10 lb dog, so a medium or standard Goldendoodle would need much more than one can, and the cost and storage burden grow quickly. Many owners use wet food as a topper on dry food. If you do, subtract the calories from the dry portion.

Fresh food

Two fresh, frozen foods appear in our comparison. Both carry the "including growth of large size dogs (70 lb or more as an adult)" wording, so they are labeled for all life stages including large-size growth.

JustFoodForDogs Chicken & RiceNom Nom Turkey Fare
AAFCO statementFormulated to meet AAFCO Dog Nutrient Profiles for all life stages, including growth of large size dogsFormulated to meet AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles for all life stages including growth of large size dogs
First five ingredientsChicken, long-grain white rice, long-grain brown rice, carrots, kaleGround turkey, brown rice, egg, carrots, spinach
Protein / fat / fiber8% min / 3% min / 1% max9% min / 4% min / 4% max (listed as dietary fiber)
Calories43 kcal ME per oz (774 kcal ME per 18 oz)244 kcal per cup
StorageFreezer; thaw in refrigerator; use within 5 days once openedFreezer; thaw in fridge; keep up to 5 days once defrosted

The JustFoodForDogs page also links a feeding trial certificate. We did not review that certificate, so we cannot comment on it.

Nom Nom portions are calculated per dog from the details the owner provides, so there is no single label feeding amount to compare. The figures above are moisture-heavy and cannot be set side by side with dry food minimums.

Fresh food needs freezer space and planning. If you are weighing it against dry food, compare the cost for your dog's size with the brand directly.

Price points

Prices are not part of our label comparison, and we will not guess at them. What we can say is how the formats usually differ in effort and storage:

  • Dry food: easiest to store and measure, and calories per cup are listed on the page.
  • Wet food: convenient as a topper, but a medium or large dog needs many cans.
  • Fresh food: needs freezer and fridge space, and portions are set by the brand.

Check the cost per day for your dog's size. A cheap bag that needs large portions can cost more per day than a pricier, more calorie-dense one.

Goldendoodle diet points from the parent breeds

No source we used documents health problems for Goldendoodles as such. The points below come from the Golden Retriever and Poodle parent breeds. Goldendoodles can inherit these tendencies, but none of them is a reason to pick a specific food. A veterinarian decides for an individual dog.

Heart disease and the grain-free question

A UC Davis School of Veterinary Medicine news release from January 2019 described taurine-deficient dilated cardiomyopathy (DCM) in golden retrievers, 23 of 24 of whom had been fed grain-free, legume-rich or combination diets. The U.S. FDA began investigating reports of DCM in dogs eating certain pet foods in July 2018. Many of those were labeled grain-free with peas, lentils, other pulses or potatoes among the first ten ingredients.

FDA's latest public update is dated December 23, 2022, and the agency said it did not plan further public updates until there is meaningful new scientific information. That investigation has not shown that grain-free food causes DCM, and we are not claiming it does. It is a reason to read the ingredient list and talk to your veterinarian before choosing a grain-free diet. All the foods in our comparison are labeled as not grain free.

Joints and growth

The AKC says breeders of Golden Retrievers screen for hip and elbow dysplasia, and GANA requires hip, elbow, heart, patella and eye results submitted to OFA for its breeders. That is about breeding, not food. For a standard puppy, the diet point is the calcium and large-size growth wording discussed above.

Bloat

The AKC says Standard Poodles are more at risk for gastric dilatation with volvulus (bloat). Goldendoodles with a Standard Poodle parent may share that background. Ask your veterinarian about feeding routines for your dog. A feeding schedule is a conversation to have, not a rule we can set.

Liver conditions

The Merck Veterinary Manual says intrahepatic portosystemic shunts are more common in large breeds including Golden Retrievers, and that hepatoportal microvascular dysplasia has been reported in Toy and Miniature Poodles. These are veterinary diagnoses. Diet may be part of a veterinarian's plan, but not something to self-manage from a label.

Red flags on a dog food label

  • No AAFCO statement. If you cannot find one, you cannot tell whether the food is complete and balanced.
  • The wrong life stage. A maintenance food for an adult is not a growth food for a puppy.
  • An "except for growth of large-size dogs" statement on a food for a standard puppy. Read the wording carefully.
  • Health promises. A food is not a guarantee against hip dysplasia, allergies, DCM or bloat. Be skeptical of any package that implies otherwise.
  • Breed marketing with no label difference. A name like "for doodles" tells you nothing unless the AAFCO statement, calories and ingredients back it up.
  • Missing calories. If a brand does not state calories per cup or per kilogram, you cannot compare portions.
  • Treating a feeding table as a prescription. It is a starting point.
  • Supplement stacking. Complete and balanced foods do not usually need extras. Ask your veterinarian before adding any.

Where to buy

Buy from the brand directly, or from a retailer you trust to store and ship food properly. Check a few things whichever you choose:

  • Compare the bag or page against the label details above, since formulas can change.
  • Check the best-by date and the condition of the package.
  • For fresh food, confirm how it ships and how long it keeps after thawing.
  • Store dry food in a cool, dry place, and follow each brand's storage instructions.

We do not sell food or link to stores, and we earn nothing from any brand listed here. The official brand pages we used are listed in the sources below.

Switching foods

When you change foods, do it gradually and watch your dog. Ask your veterinarian for a transition plan, especially for a puppy or a dog with a history of digestive upset. Recheck your dog's weight and body condition a few weeks after any change.

A short checklist

  1. Decide your dog's GANA size category, or your best estimate for a puppy.
  2. Match the life stage and the weight range on the label.
  3. Read the AAFCO statement, and for standard puppies, look for the large-size growth wording.
  4. Compare calories per cup, then adjust the portion for your dog.
  5. Read the first five ingredients and the grain-free question with your veterinarian.
  6. Confirm the choice with your veterinarian, then watch weight and condition.

Sources